Click a question below to reveal the answer.
Q: How many people are needed to start a vanpool?
A: Vanpools are designed to transport a group of up to 12 people to work. Employees who live and work near one another and share similar schedules can form a group that conveniently gets them to and from work.
Q: How much does vanpooling cost?
A: Cost varies depending on the number of riders. The cost of a San Benito RideShare vanpool lease is $450.00 per month. First time vanpool groups receive half off the lease for the first three months. Generally the cost to each rider ranges from about $80 – $120 per month. The lease covers the costs of maintenance and insurance. One person is asked to volunteer to be the primary driver.
Q: What responsibilities does the vanpool driver have?
A: In exchange for driving the driver rides for free or pays a reduced fee. The driver maintains the van, fuels the van, collects fees from the riders, and pays the monthly bill. The vanpool driver must also be punctual and drive safely.
Q: What qualifications does a vanpool driver need to have?
A: The vanpool driver must have each of the following:
- Valid California driver’s license
- A clean DMV printout
- Valid medical exam certificate
- Sworn statement to be renewed every year stating the driver has not been convicted of reckless driving, drunk driving, or hit-and-run offenses in the past five years
Q: What perks does the vanpool driver get?
A: The vanpool program is set-up so that the driver can get a free or reduced commute. If there are back-up drivers, they usually receive a reduced monthly fare, as determined by the vanpool group.
Q: What responsibilities do the vanpool riders have?
A: Vanpool riders must be punctual with their arrival at agreed pick-up locations and with their monthly payments.
Q: What rules govern the vanpool?
A: Each vanpool makes their own rules regarding music, pick-up points, length of wait at pick-up points and other issues important to the group.
Q: Where is the van maintenance done?
A: The vans are serviced at San Benito RideShare’s maintenance facility on Southside Road in Hollister.
Q: What is the Employee Pre-Tax Commuter Benefit program and how do I sign up?
A: Contact your employer. Under the Transportation Equity Act, IRS code 132(f), and California state law, employers are allowed to offer payroll tax savings for transportation assistance — up to $125 a month per employee for transit passes or vanpool vouchers. Employers also have the option of subsidizing part of their employees’ commuting costs and allowing employees to pay for the remainder, up to the $125 monthly limit, with pre-tax dollars.
Q: How long is the vanpool agreement?
Vanpool agreements automatically renew every 30 days until written notification is given by the driver – 30 days in advance.
Q: What if I have a personal emergency and need to get home?
A: San Benito RideShare will reimburse three guaranteed rides home per year for each vanpool rider/driver. Drivers are eligible only if a back-up driver is established to drive the vanpool. See our Guaranteed Ride Home Program page for more information.